State attorneys general condemn U.S. Capitol riot


CHICAGO — Attorneys general from states, territories and the District of Columbia have sent a letter to Acting U.S. Attorney General Jeffrey A. Rosen condemning last week’s U.S. Capitol riot.

Illinois Attorney General Kwame Raoul was one of the 50 officials signing the letter.

The letter reads:

“We, the undersigned state attorneys general, are committed to the protection of public safety, the rule of law, and the U.S. Constitution. We are appalled that on January 6, 2021, rioters invaded the U.S. Capitol, defaced the building, and engaged in a range of criminal conduct – including unlawful entry, theft, destruction of U.S. government property, and assault. Worst of all, the riot resulted in the deaths of individuals, including a U.S. Capitol Police officer, and others were physically injured. Beyond these harms, the rioters’ actions temporarily paused government business of the most sacred sort in our system – certifying the result of a presidential election.

“The criminal attack on our democracy on January 6 was horrific and unacceptable,” Raoul said. “This country has always served as a beacon of democracy, and last week, rioters threatened that democracy. Regardless of one’s political ideology, we should all recognize that these criminal actions cannot go unchecked. Those who participated in the violence at the Capitol must be held fully accountable under the law.”

Also signing the letter were the attorneys general of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Todd Rokita, the Indiana Attorney General, was one of only four state attorneys general not to sign on. Rokita, who was sworn in on Monday, told WRTV-TV in Indianapolis that he didn’t sign the letter because there wasn’t the same condemnation of the George Floyd Uprising last summer.

Joining Rokita were the attorneys general of Louisiana, Montana and Texas.



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy