All but one Illinois regions out of Tier 3 COVID mitigations


SPRINGFIELD — The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) on Thursday announced Region 6 is returning to Phase 4 of the Restore Plan and Region 7 is advancing to Tier 1

Information about which tier and phase regions are in can be found at the top of the IDPH website homepage.  

Region 6 includes Champaign, Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Iroquois, Jasper, Lawrence, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt, Richland, Shelby and Vermillion counties. Region 7 includes Kankakee and Will counties.

“I am excited that 10 out of our 11 regions have moved out of Tier 3 mitigations,” said IDPH Director Dr. Ngozi Ezike in a press release.  “However, this does not mean we can let our guard down.  We must continue to practice actions to protect ourselves from the virus – wear our masks, avoid large gatherings, and get the vaccine when it is our turn.  This is particularly critical as new variants circulate, which early studies show spread much more rapidly.  We are headed in the right direction once again, so let’s stay the course.”

IDPH said it will continue to closely monitor test positivity, ICU bed availability, and the number of people in the hospital with COVID-19.  If data shows regions trending in the wrong direction, based on the established mitigation metrics, they could find themselves in a higher tier with increased measures.

IDPH reported 4,979 new confirmed and probable cases of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in Illinois, including 123 additional deaths, on Thursday.



Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy