Buttigeig confirmed as first out gay cabinet secretary


The U.S. Senate confirmed Pete Buttigieg as Transportation Secretary in a 86-13 vote on Tuesday.

With the confirmation, Buttigieg is the first out gay confirmed cabinet member in U.S. history.

“This confirmation breaks through a barrier that has existed for too long; where LGBTQ identity served as an impediment to nomination or confirmation at the highest level of government,” said Alphonso David, president of the Human Rights Campaign. “Let this important moment for our movement serve as a reminder to every LGBTQ young person: you too can serve your country in any capacity you earn the qualifications to hold.”

Buttigieg was confirmed with a bipartisan vote, but all of those who did vote against his confirmation were Republican.

According to the Advocate, those voting against him were ens. Richard Shelby and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama; Tom Cotton of Arkansas; Marco Rubio and Rick Scott of Florida; Roger Marshall of Kansas; Bill Cassidy of Louisiana; Josh Hawley of Missouri; James Lankford of Oklahoma; Tim Scott of South Carolina; Marsha Blackburn and Bill Hagerty of Tennessee; and Ted Cruz of Texas. None of them score that high on the HRC’s Congressional Scorecard with a few ranking zero.



Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy