ISU’s Queer Coalition elects executive board

The Queer Coalition’s logo

The Queer Coalition at Illinois State University (ISU) elected their first executive board in January.

Elected on Jan. 29, ISU said the 10-person board will help set the trajectory for the organization during its first year as a faculty, staff, and graduate student affinity group at the school.

In addition to four officers, the board also includes six members-at-large, four of whom represent specific employment classifications on campus. The coalition grew out of a previous LGBTQ organization, the Triangle Association. A press release from ISU said the new group has also taken on many of the functions of the former LGBT/Queer Studies and Services Institute.

ISU faculty, staff, and graduate students, as well as retirees and community members, are all invited to become members of the Queer Coalition by filling out this form. Members can opt-in to being added to the QC listserv and/or Team in order to stay up-to-date on all that’s queer at ISU. The Coalition is also keeping the community informed through its Twitter account and Facebook page, both of which now sports a new logo courtesy of member-at-large Brienne Reid and secretary Karmen Beecroft.

“The logo represents the Coalition’s desire to keep the concerns of the often-marginalized identities at the end of the LGBTQIA+ acronym front and center in our activism,” said Beecroft, “and to recognize the fact that gender, sexual, and a/romantic identities are intrinsically intertwined.”

Queer Coalition members were recently sent invitations to fill out a survey gauging their interest in future programming and committee service.Committees under consideration run the gamut from Coalition Building to Research and Scholarship, while potential social events include Zoom Bingo, queer crafting workshops, or even a Dungeons & Dragons campaign. Fundraising is also a major topic since local landmarks like The Bistro and emergency resources such as the LGBTQ Student Support Fund have been hard hit by the pandemic.

The new board members are:

  • Gavin Weiser (co-president)
  • Byron Craig (co-president)
  • Jamie Anderson (treasurer)
  • Karmen Beecroft (secretary)
  • Dave Bentlin (member-at-large; civil service representative)
  • Barb Dallinger (member-at-large; administrative/professional representative)
  • Genevieve Rappold (member-at-large; graduate student representative),
  • Brienne Reid (member-at-large)
  • Caitlin Stewart (member-at-large; non-tenure-track faculty representative)
  • Liv Stone (member-at-large)
  • Gavin Weiser (co-president)



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy