New appointments to Discrimination and Hate Crimes Commission named


Illinois Gov. JB Pritzker has named new members to the state’s Commission on Discrimination and Hate Crimes, pending approval by the state Senate.

Jim Bennett, the current director of the Illinois Department of Human Rights, will serve as the chair. He previously served as the Midwest regional director for Lambda Legal and as acting senior external affairs director at Howard Brown Health in Chicago.

Other commission members include:

  • Hilda Bahena – Department Director of Catholic Charities Legal Assistance Department
  • Anita Banerji – Consultant with Indo-American Center.
  • Cindy Buys – Law professor at Southern Illinois University School of Law. 
  • David Goldenberg – Midwest Regional Director at the Anti-Defamation League. 
  • Julie Justicz – Chief Advancement Officer and Director of Hate Crimes Project at the Chicago Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights. 
  • Andrew Kang – Executive Director of Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Chicago. 
  • Melineh Kano – Executive Director of RefugeeOne. 
  • Brendan Kelly – Director of the Illinois State Police.
  • Seth Limmer – Senior Rabbi at Chicago Sinai Congregation. 
  • Amy Meek – Civil Rights Bureau Chief at the Illinois Attorney General’s Office. 
  • Mona Noriega – Former Commissioner on the Commission on Human Rights for the City of Chicago. 
  • LaDon Reynolds – Chief of Police at the Village of Oak Park.
  • Dilara Sayeed – Founder and CEO of vPeer. 
  • Karen Tamley – President and CEO of Access Living.
  • Molly Uhe-Edmonds – Director of Student Care at the Illinois State Board of Education. 

The governor’s office said additional members are completing the appointment process.



Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy