National Black Justice Coalition celebrates record number of LGBTQ NAACP Image Award nominees


The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) last week celebrated the record number of out Black LGBTQ nominees for the NAACP Image Awards.

The Image Awards honor outstanding performances in film, television, theater, music, and literature and include several honorary awards. 

Billy Porter has received several nominations, including Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series for Pose, Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance (Television) for his role on Fairfax, and Outstanding Literary Work-Biography/Autobiography for his book Unprotected: A Memoir. 

Pose, a television show led by Black and Latinx LGBTQ+/SGL actors highlighting New York City’s ballroom community during the height of the HIV/AIDS epidemic, received its first nomination for Outstanding Drama Series and Outstanding Writing in a Drama Series for the “Series Finale.” Pose was recently recognized at the Golden Globes, where MJ Rodriguez won Best Actress in a TV Drama for her role on the show.

Lil Nas X has been nominated for Entertainer of the Year, Outstanding Male Artist, and his song “Industry Baby” is nominated for Outstanding Hip Hop/Rap Song. His first studio album Montero was released in 2021 to high critical acclaim and is both unapologetically queer and Black. Other Black LGBTQ+/SGL nominees include: 

  • Bruised for Outstanding Independent Motion Picture 
  • The United States vs. Billie Holiday for Outstanding Motion Picture
  • Rutina Wesley for Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series in Queen Sugar  
  • Kenny Leon for Outstanding Directing in a Television Movie or Special for Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia
  • Keke Palmer for Outstanding Character Voice-Over Performance (Television) in Big Mouth
  • Cynthia Erivo for Outstanding Actress in a Television Movie in Genius: Aretha  
  • Cynthia Erivo for Outstanding New Artist 
  • Jamila Wignot for Outstanding Breakthrough Creative with Ailey
  • My Name is Pauli Murray for Outstanding Documentary (Film) 
  • Tessa Thompson for Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture in Passing 
  • Ariana DeBose for Outstanding Breakthrough Performance in a Motion Picture in West Side Story 
  • Wanda Sykes for Outstanding Support Actress in a Comedy Series in The Upshaws
  • Queen Latifah for Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series in The Equalizer
  • Tituss Burgess for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Television Movie, Limited-Series or Dramatic Special in Annie Live!
  • Cierra Glaude Outstanding Breakthrough Creative (Television) with Queen Sugar 
  • Temi Wilkey for Outstanding Writing in a Comedy Series for Sex Education “Episode #3.6” 
  • Jeremy O. Harris for Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture for Zola 
  • Anthony Hemingway for Outstanding Directing in a Drama Series for Genius: Aretha “Respect” 
  • Terrell Grice for Social Media Personality of the Year 

“There’s still much work to do in our community to ensure that each of us can show up, and feel safe, fully formed just as we are, and there’s also a lot to celebrate as we continue to engage in that tough, communal work,” said David J. Johns, Executive Director. “We celebrate the accomplishments of our LGBTQ+/SGL siblings and look forward to all that’s to come. Folx know when we show up, we show all the way out.”

Members of the public can vote, through Feb. 5, for this year’s winners on NAACPImageAwards.net. The 53rd NAACP Image Awards will air live on BET on Saturday, Feb. 26. Tune in and post on social media using #NAACPImageAwards. 



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy