LGBTQ legislators in 16 states working to create “refuge states” for trans kids


A coalition of out LGBTQ state legislators and organizations have started work on passing laws that protect transgender kids and their families, creating refuge states.

On Tuesday, 21 legislators from 16 states, including Illinois, committed to introduce trans refuge state bills. The states are Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia.

The effort is in response to hundreds of anti-trans bills, many aimed at youth, being considered or passed in statehouses across the country.’

“When trans kids’ lives are on the line, playing defense doesn’t cut it. It’s time to play offense,” said Annise Parker, president and CEO of LGBTQ Victory Institute. “We are using the collective power of LGBTQ state legislators all across the nation to launch a counter-offensive that aims to protect trans kids and parents while also demonstrating that there is a positive agenda for trans people that lawmakers can support.”

“We have made strides to ensure the LGBTQ community has protections. Now is the time to ensure our LGBTQ youth have protections as well,” said State Rep. Keturah Herron (D-Ky.).

Out Illinois state representatives Kelly Cassidy (D-Chicago) and Lamont Robinson (D-Chicago) were among those making the committment.



This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy