The Macomb Feminist Network’s Writing Women into History Award calls for nominations

The Macomb Feminist Network (MFN) is accepting nominations for its 2023 Writing Women into History Award.

The Macomb Feminist Network (MFN) is accepting nominations for its 2023 Writing Women into History Award.

The Award was established in 2010 to honor, promote, and expand the knowledge of the extraordinary and long-lasting contributions individual women have made in shaping and strengthening local local community.

Women eligible to be nominated for this award must meet the following criteria: (a) have resided in McDonough County, (b) have been exceptional role models, and (c) have made extraordinary and long-lasting contributions within the local community through their initiatives, advocacy and/or engagement.

Any community member may submit a nomination by completing the nomination form. Self-nominations may be considered if accompanied by a letter of support. Nominations of women who have passed away will also be considered. Nominations will only be considered the year they are submitted, but previous nominees may be re-nominated if they were not chosen earlier.

Past award recipients include: Wanda Black, Mary Ellen Graff, Rosa Julstrom, and Beth Stiffler (2010); Constance DeMuth Berg, Marcia Moll, and Ruth Parks (2011); Maria Dunstan, Judith Kohler, and Donna Werner (2012); Josephine Johnson, Elizabeth “Betty” Kaspar, and Janice Welsch (2013); Gordana Rezab, Mary Warnock, and Alice Swain (2014); Lois Ganyard, Suzan Nash, and Margaret Ovitt (2015); Alice Henry, Alta Sargent, and Peggy Scharfenberg (2016); Lorraine Epperson, Debbie Maguire, Pamella McLean, and Becky Parker (2017), Sally Egler, Martha Klems, Maurine Magliocco, and Paula Wise (2018), Belinda Carr, Susan Lawhorn, Winona Malpass, Essie Rutledge, and Patricia Walton (2019), Janine Cavicchia, Patricia (Patti) Jones, Lois Lueck, and Sue Scott (2020); and Gayle Tronvig Carper, Nancy “Nan” Crossman, Verneata D. Jones, and Jill Joline Myers(2022). No recipients were recognized in 2021 because of COVID-19 restrictions.

The 2023 recipients of the Award will be honored at a brunch reception hosted by the Macomb Feminist Network from 9:30 a.m.-noon Saturday, March 4 at the Wesley Village Community Center.

Nomination forms may be downloaded from MFN’s website or by emailing Patricia Walton at Completed nomination forms should be sent to Walton by email at, or at Macomb Feminist Network, P. O. Box 765, Macomb, IL 61455. The deadline for nominations is Saturday, Dec. 3.

Know a useful resource?

Share it with your community!

We aggregate links that connect to resources across Illinois. If you know of a site that should be included or want your website listed, please submit it!


Get LGBTQ news sent right to you!

We share original stories, plus essential headlines from across the state and beyond, to keep you current on LGBTQ issues and community.


This site uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Scroll to Top